<div style="display:inline;"> <img height="1" width="1" style="border-style:none;" alt="" src="//googleads.g.doubleclick.net/pagead/viewthroughconversion/1028731116/?value=0&amp;guid=ON&amp;script=0">
CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Lancashire Life today click here

Restaurant review - Grand Pacific, Manchester,

PUBLISHED: 00:00 22 June 2017

Gado Gado Salad, Grand Pacific Manchester Photo:Carl Sukonik

Gado Gado Salad, Grand Pacific Manchester Photo:Carl Sukonik

© The Vain Photography | Carl Sukonik | http://www.thevain.co.uk/ | http://www.twitter.com/thevainphotos

So does Grand Pacific in Manchester make you really feel you’re dining at an old colonial hang-out? Janet Reeder went along to find out.

Grand Pacific Restaurant Photo:James Brown Grand Pacific Restaurant Photo:James Brown

There are some of us old enough to recall the days of Reform when this former gentlemen’s club of the Victorian era had been one of Manchester’s celebrity haunts.

Could it be 17 years ago, I was drinking there with jeweller Stephen Webster, who went on to design a ring for Madonna’s wedding to Guy Ritchie? How time flies. Since then, the celebrities and footballers have found new places to flaunt their fame and as Reform went into receivership and morphed into Room it has simply never been the same.

Then came Tim Bacon. Before he lost his battle with cancer, just over a year ago, the chairman and co-founder of the Living Ventures chain set the wheels in motion to bring back the lively, irreverent atmosphere of the restaurant in its heyday.

The building itself retains the beautiful Venetian Gothic architectural features of its inception in 1870-71 with the atmospheric dark wood panelling and stunning original fireplace left intact. But the interior has been given the vibe of an old colonial hotel in the Far East so there are designer touches incorporating a pineapple motif and a long marble bar that wouldn’t seem out of place in a Graham Greene novel.

The Grand Pineapple, Grand Pacific Manchester Photo:Carl Sukonik The Grand Pineapple, Grand Pacific Manchester Photo:Carl Sukonik

Of course, this is no longer Manchester in the late 1990s. Club life has been replaced by a thriving dining scene so while people may want a drink (or several) at the bar they’ll also want to dine in some style.

I did pop in for just a drink and tried their hibiscus cocktail a few days before booking for dinner and was a little bit disappointed by my drink- it had too much ice so when I went back with my friend in tow, we ordered a bottle of wine and drank a glass sitting by a soaring Gothic window on one of Grand Pacific’s luxurious cream leather chairs.

When our table became available we were escorted into the beautiful dining area, where the cream upholstery and pineapple theme continued. Oriental-lantern style light fittings were dangling over marble topped tables in an attempt to persuade us we weren’t in Manchester at all but in Raffles Hotel, Singapore, or somewhere equally glamorous. It’s all good fun.

The menu is small and ‘fusion’. More akin to that at Living Ventures’ excellent Pan Asian restaurant in Spinningfields, Australasia, than their fine dining establishment Manchester House (they also serve up light lunches, afternoon tea and a value for money three course Sunday lunch at £15.95).

I started with creamed goats’ cheese (£6.50) which on paper seemed an odd partnership of pineapple, watermelon and avocado mousse but in reality worked a dream with the brunoise-style fruit ‘dressed with the creamy light cheese and mousse.

Across the table, the deconstructed chirasi shushi bowl (£8.75) delivered the freshness of tuna and salmon sashimi, an intense hit of pickled mackerel, shredded wasabi and slices of avocado and cucumber. It was a good size too. Enough alone for a light lunch.

The main course of tempura seabass £17.95, made pieces of battered fresh fish the star, enhanced by Szechuan spices and rolled cucumber and avocado and spindly crispy oodles.

King Oyster mushroom (£1.95)was a revelation, scored like a steak the mushroom soaked up the flavours of the light dashi broth, while the egg surrounded by crispy crumb and fried added texture. The potatoes, which while delicious, seem a bit incongruous in a Japanese inspired dish. Still it was very very good to eat. We accompanied the mains with rice, oriental greens and broccoli.

The desserts are designed to complement the rest of the menu so there’s quite a bit of fruit in the final courses. I chose baked bananas (£5.50) which were cooked so the skins were black then turned origami-like into little shoes, served with a sticky salted caramel sauce and a creamy coconut ice cream. Simple but indulgent, while my guest opted for a classic summer pudding (£5.95) packed with berry flavours and served with cream that proved the perfect end to our Pan Asian journey.

Grand Pacific, 50 Spring Gardens, 
Manchester, M2 1EN 
0161 839 9365

grandpacific.uk.com

More from Food & Drink

Thu, 00:00

Asha’s in Manchester won City Restaurant of the Year in the 2017 Cheshire Life Food and Drink Awards. Louise Allen-Taylor returns for second helpings.

Read more
Manchester Restaurants Asian Food
Tue, 09:00

The winners were announced at a glittering ceremony at the Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel and Spa.

Read more
Thursday, October 12, 2017

Tarleton has become a popular place to live but its farming tradition has been bringing in outsiders for centuries. Martin Pilkington reports.

Read more
Lancashire Food
Thursday, October 12, 2017

What do you get if you cross a building surveyor and a nurse? Some of the best chocolates in Lancashire, as Emma Mayoh discovered.

Read more
Chocolate
Wednesday, October 11, 2017

A paradise for foodies has been created as part of the £10million restoration of a Clitheroe mill. Roger Borrell reports

Read more
Clitheroe Lancashire Food
Friday, October 6, 2017

He’s an actor and a pub owner so who better to take over the restaurant at the Royal Exchange Theatre? Rupert Hill is more than ready for the challenge, as Janet Reeder discovers

Read more
Manchester Restaurants
Tuesday, October 3, 2017

A Kendal baker has revived an historic recipe that packs a punch. Sue Riley reports

Read more
Baking
Tuesday, October 3, 2017

Cholesterol Awareness Month from Monday 2nd to Sunday 29th of October.

Read more
Monday, October 2, 2017

We reveal the shining stars of the hospitality industry who will be vying for trophies at this year’s Lancashire Life Food & Drink Awards

Read more
Friday, September 29, 2017

Arthur Bridgeman Quin’s star is on the rise. But he believes his success is all down to team work. Emma Mayoh reports

Read more
Friday, September 29, 2017

The good life, Italian style, is alive and kicking, writes Louise Allen-Taylor

Read more
Manchester Restaurants
Thursday, September 28, 2017

Private dining takes on a new element at the chic award-winning King Street Townhouse in Manchester, writes Louise Allen-Taylor

Read more
Manchester Restaurants
Thursday, September 21, 2017

The steaks are high at the Red Pump Inn in Bashall Eaves. Mairead Mahon reports

Read more
Lancashire Restaurants
Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Meet the sponsors and suppliers helping to ensure this year’s event will be top class.

Read more
 
Great British Holidays advert link

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Subscribe or buy a mag today

Lancashire Life Application Link

Local Business Directory

Lancashire's trusted business finder

Job search in your local area



Search For a Car In Your Area

Property Search