3 ISSUES FOR JUST £3 Subscribe to Lancashire Life today click here

Restaurant review - La Bandera, Manchester

PUBLISHED: 00:00 16 March 2017 | UPDATED: 10:07 16 March 2017

La Bandera

La Bandera

not Archant

Digest this mini review in 60 seconds.

VENUE

A Spanish restaurant concentrating on tapas, but offering a more sophisticated setting than the usual tapas bar. You can have dishes as and when they’re ready (as in traditional tapas bars) or go for the classic starter and main course timetable. We chose the latter.

MENU

For starters my dining companion and I shared three delicious plates: croqueta de jamon (creamy potato with smokey ham, £7.95), lagrimas de pollo (chicken strips in a spicey honey sauce, £6.75) and patatas bravas (the classic fried potato plus three dips, £5.75). Our main courses proved just as satisfying: he enjoyed bistec de ternera (steak in a truffle and mushroom sauce, £18.95) which he declared ‘brilliant’. I tucked into brocheta bacalao (cod pieces and king prawns on skewers, £19.85) which was mild, pleasing after the highly flavoured starters and a side order of patatas salteadas (garlicky new potatoes, £3.25). I was too full for dessert -although the selection was tempting - but he demolished mousse triple choc (£5.75) which reminded him of a tiramisu cake.

The beers and wine list is good. We enjoyed a bottle of Carballal Albarino, a rich, ripe white wine, £31.

DECOR AND AMBIENCE

Sophisticated, light and airy. Striking yellow leather seating - booths and sofas - dominate the decor. The ceiling is high and there’s a pleasant pale grey slate effect to the walls. Very fetching.

SERVICE

Charming waitress service with classy touches.

COST

Slightly on the pricey side, but justified by the setting and service. The bill with coffees came to £110.

2 Ridgefield off King Street, Manchester, M2 6EQ

0161 833 9019 www.labandera.co.uk

More from Food & Drink

Friday, August 31, 2018

A £10million project has transformed a Victorian hotel into a Lakes spa resort with a brilliant pan-Asian restaurant. Roger Borrell reports.

Read more
Derwentwater Asian Food Luxury Break
Friday, August 24, 2018

It’s a cooking career that started with a tuna pasta bake and now Chris Parsons is head banqueting chef at Ribby Hall Village, venue for this year’s Lancashire Life Food & Drink Awards. He spoke to Roger Borrell

Read more
Ribby Hall
Monday, August 20, 2018

Come and enjoy a relaxed dining experience effortlessly prepared by our Award Winning Head Chef.

Read more

Your granny wouldn’t like it but this Manchester restaurant aims to be out of this world, writes Roger Borrell.

Read more
Manchester Restaurants Asian Food
Friday, August 3, 2018

Due to the popularity of our Vegan Menu and to promote the health benefits of a plant based diet we are launching our weekly vegan night, Choose Vegan.

Read more
Friday, August 3, 2018

The world’s best pizza deal comes to The Feilden’s Arms at Mellor Brook.

Read more
Thursday, August 2, 2018

Join us Monday to Friday, from 12pm ‘til 3pm during the school summer holidays (23/7/18 to 31/8/18) when children under 12 can enjoy a Kids Pizza for FREE.

Read more
Thursday, August 2, 2018

A Lancashire couple sold up their home and their business so their sons could become farmers

Read more
Wednesday, August 1, 2018

Beautiful food in beautiful surroundings...

Read more
Wednesday, August 1, 2018

Fine dining in elegant surroundings makes Pier Eight at the Lowry a destination dining restaurant you’ll want to visit time and again, says Kate Houghton.

Read more
Friday, July 20, 2018

It’s summer, so let’s eat out on the riviera...the Mersey riviera, that is

Read more
Liverpool
Friday, July 20, 2018

An old tea service owned by her grandmother set Tina Nunn on the path to a rewarding new career.

Read more
Afternoon Tea
Thursday, July 19, 2018

A young couple are taking an innovative approach to farming on land overlooking Morecambe Bay

Read more

It’s all the rage in trendy capitals around the world and now ice cream rolls are available in Lancashire.

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy


Subscribe or buy a mag today

Local Business Directory

Property Search